let the flames begin

Let The Flames Begin. lightfires has been creating bespoke images and events for over 12 years. Our effects have brought internationally acclaimed shows to audiences in their thousands and more delicate perhaps more surprising artistic uses of fire to smaller audiences. We can provide anything from a single effect to a piece of theatre, devise a whole pyro-animated performance, or craft a firework celebration to suit your needs.

the glass ceiling

By Periplum

The Glass Ceiling is an ambitious visual theatre work marking 100 years since the first British  women were given the right to vote. Inspired by the Suffragettes and Suffragists, the show celebrates activists from the Tees Valley region whose courage propelled this historic movement to achieve political recognition.

Periplum bring to life the self-styled ‘feminine incendiaries’, and the men who marched alongside these pioneers of direct action. Sensory, spectacular and ultimately uplifting, this surround performance uses innovative staging and pyrotechnic design, new music, writing and aerial performance in a gritty depiction of the struggle to gain the vote and break through a glass ceiling.

Funded by Arts Council England and Tees Valley Combined Authority, cocommissioned by Stockton International Riverside Festival, Stockton Borough Council, Darlington Borough Council, Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council, Hartlepool Borough Council and Middlesbrough Council.


Written, designed and directed by Claire Raftery & Damian Wright (Periplum).
Fire & pyro delivery by Lightfires.
Music by Barry Han, Mike Simmonds & Periplum.

Filmed by Ian Paine at SIRF 2018.
Edit by Damian Wright.

Photography: Dawn McNamara & Anete Sooda

Lighting Design: Johnny Goodwin
Audio Design: Aidan O’Brien
Set engineer: Mike Pattison
Portable Lighting design: John Varah & Periplum
Signage Design: Steven Grainger
Live Violin: Mike Simmonds

Emma Bloomfield
Sarah Han
Sarah Leaver
Florencia Leon
Milo Foster-Prior
Steven Grainger
Mike Simmonds
Alasdair Jones
Colleen Metcalfe
Lynne Lawson
Rebecca French
Michele Plews
Doreen Frankland

2016 logo 2.jpg